Engine Light code 37..torque converter? (Picture) - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Engine Light code 37..torque converter? (Picture)

JK specific skid plates from Clayton Off Road Mfg.RCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Reply
Unread 07-29-2012, 11:37 AM   #1
chupathingy901
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, Pennsylania
Posts: 444
Engine Light code 37..torque converter? (Picture)

The other day my check engine light came on. Did the key dance and i got code 37, something about the torque converter not locking up. I took a picture of my dash At 65 mph. I don't feel it lock in. But it's been like that ever since I bought it a year ago, never a light. I figured the rpms stayed that high because it's only a 3 speed auto. Do my RPMS look normal? If not what should I look for to repair?

image-3395940027.jpg

chupathingy901 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2012, 01:46 PM   #2
2003RubiBlue
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 650
Hey your out of gas. Seriously though I think those rpms look reasonable.
__________________
Quote MrBlaine:
"That's awesome advice. Anytime I have a difficult repair, I fix something else that's much easier to get to. This one time, there was a hole in the oil pan so I replaced the side mirror on the driver's door."
Wanted: Tuffy rear underseat drawer. PM me if you have one.
2003RubiBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2012, 02:09 PM   #3
chupathingy901
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, Pennsylania
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2003RubiBlue
Hey your out of gas. Seriously though I think those rpms look reasonable.
Okay, what do you think triggered the light?? And no I'm not out of gas, the sending unit went haha
chupathingy901 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2012, 03:43 PM   #4
Knuckelhead
AFSOC Retired
 
Knuckelhead's Avatar
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by chupathingy901 View Post
Okay, what do you think triggered the light?? And no I'm not out of gas, the sending unit went haha
There are 2 things that can cause the TC lockup CEL.

1. No rpm drop when the PCM looks for it.

2. No 12 vdc input to the PCM at pin B11 of connector C2. Check fuse #11 in the fuse block.

This is for the 2000 32RH, your 1997 my be different... HTH
__________________
TSB Information: http://www.automd.com/tsb/jeep_m/wrangler_mm/2000_y/
Knuckelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2012, 10:05 PM   #5
chupathingy901
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, Pennsylania
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knuckelhead

There are 2 things that can cause the TC lockup CEL.

1. No rpm drop when the PCM looks for it.

2. No 12 vdc input to the PCM at pin B11 of connector C2. Check fuse #11 in the fuse block.

This is for the 2000 32RH, your 1997 my be different... HTH
Fuse is good..I guess I'll reset and see if it comes back.
chupathingy901 is online now   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.