Electric problems 1999 wrangler - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Electric problems 1999 wrangler

Clayton Off Road WJ Long Arm Kits!Clayton Off Road - JK Prototype Gas Tank SkidTJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG

Unread 12-06-2008, 02:27 PM   #1
stallion81
1999 TJ Wrangler 

Electric problems 1999 wrangler

Hello all. I'm new to the board, but have owned jeeps for almost 20 years. I'm no electrician. My 99 Wrangler has had instrument panel problems for a while. Now I have blower motor problems. Took it in while under used car upgraded warranty for the instrument problems. Techs could not "duplicate" the problem. Various dash instruments would come and go. Can hit glove box(or a big bump in the road) and get them to come on. Now the heater blower is totally gone, used to work on high only. Well the motor is good(straight power test) and I changed the $40 resistor. Still nothing. Before I change the blower switch, I need to know where the 2 instrument panel grounds are located? I'm hoping this will solve both issues. Thanks for any help.

stallion81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2008, 02:51 PM   #2
bmlawless
1997 TJ Wrangler 

I know it's common for people to give the pins on the back of the instrument cluster a slight bend to make a better contact. That might explain the gauge problems, especially if you are able to hit the dash and fix it.

()_)-()_)-o-)_)
"TJ" really stands for "TEAL JEEP!"
I'll think of a better signature when my ADHD medication starts wor.....hey look, a penny!
bmlawless is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2008, 03:03 PM   #3
Stu Olson
Web Wheeler

1998 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmlawless View Post