Death wobble on left side - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Death wobble on left side

December Specials at Jeephut.comROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kits

Unread 08-25-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
Hornet4x4

Death wobble on left side

So when I'm driving down the road and hit a bump all of the sudden I get death wobble on the left front only and then when I slow down to under 15mph it stops and then I can drive again. I'm new to Jeeps and I know the track bar has a lot to do with it. I have a 4.5inch rubicon lift. Do I need to have the heim joint on the track bar replaced? And do I have to have the frame mount or body mount replaced where the track bar mounts to pivot?

Hornet4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-25-2012, 01:06 PM   #2
biffgnar
Web Wheeler

2006 TJ Wrangler 

If you think it is really only limited to one side, I'd focus on things that are semi-isolated to that side. Something like a bad ball joint or unit bearing. Don't see how a lot of the traditional stuff like trackbars, control arm bushings, TREs, etc. would only affect one side.
Unread 08-25-2012, 02:03 PM   #3
alldone
1930 CJ2 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornet4x4 View Post
I'm new to Jeeps and I know the track bar has a lot to do with it.
Reading stories on here you'll see that there are a ton of other things besides the track bar - although it seems to be the most common.

In your case, could you have thrown a wheel weight on that one tire? Just a thought.