Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Death Wobble??

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Wheelin98TJ 
#1 ·
Hello everybody! I am a newb here! Last week I started experiencing a pretty significant wobble in my 01 TJ. Is there a "checklist" of things I should look at to resolve the issue?

Thanks! :thumbsup:

T

#2 ·
Search for "Death Wobble".....you will find a definative DW thread.
Or my thread below lists the sequences I went through.

#1 Check trackbar for horizontal play....NO play should exist in either joint.
#2 Do dry steering test....look at everything, Tbar, TRE's......everything.
#3 Tires? Are they damaged? out of round? out of balance alot? (can cause shimmy which can contrib to DW)
#4 alignment?
#5 - Control arm bushings....huge. That was my problem,....they must be removed to be inspected! Looking at them while attached will not tell you too much.

And finally,...is it REALLY DW? Does the steering wheel leap from your hands while the front end jumps left to right and you crap yourself while stopping as quickly as possible?
If not...then you do not have DW.

#6 ·
I think it comes up because even though the diagnosis is similar,......know what you are looking for aids the diagnosis.
Example: If I have a light shimmy at 45mph....and the tires are way out of balance,....I can be pretty confident that is the cause,....(might end up not being the cause)...but I can attribute that pretty easily.

If I have full on DW and the tires are out of balance,....I can safely know that something else is also wrong. That oOB tires alone, will not cause full on DW in an otherwise healthy jeep.

Thats my guess.....

#9 ·
Dr_Jim said:
And finally,...is it REALLY DW? Does the steering wheel leap from your hands while the front end jumps left to right and you crap yourself while stopping as quickly as possible?
If not...then you do not have DW.
Wheelin98TJ said:
I don't understand why this always comes up in death wobble threads.