Cold Air Intake ?? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Cold Air Intake ??

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectThanksgiving holiday sale in effect @ oconeeoffroad.comRugged Ridge 8500lb Winch w/ Steel Cable $294.99 Shipped O

Unread 04-22-2008, 03:53 PM   #1
gravelgrazer
2010 JK Wrangler 

Cold Air Intake ??

Hello, I'm a newbie. I searched the forum about cold air intakes, I did not find what I was looking for.
What concerns do I need to address about dust filtration and moisture?
I was considering using a dry filter (EX AEM Dryflow Conical style) with a prefilter.
I have a 2000 TJ 2.5L MFI with an automatic transmission, the engine does not seem to get the necessary air at ~3000rpm (60-65mph)it really starts to run rich. Tried complete tune up, new O2 sensor(bad heater), tested MAF & MAP OK, Araid Throttle Body Spacer.
I am trying to get the best out of the vehicle on and off road. Next thought is a Cold Air Intake?? Any Suggestions, Thanks

gravelgrazer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-22-2008, 03:58 PM   #2
sherp89
2006 TJ Wrangler 

You have no idea the debate you just unleashed... go pick up the latest copy off JP magazine... they ran a test on just about every CAI there is right now, granted it was on the 4.0L so I don't know how well it transfers to the 2.5L but should give you an idea anyway... after the debates on here I have decided to at least wait on getting a CAI, but that is just me... you will get tons of opinions though trust me.
Black Jeep Club Member #89
-Scouts Out-
sherp89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-22-2008, 04:02 PM   #3
BlackBellamy
1999 TJ Wrangler