Chev Gen3 engine swap - info compilation - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 28 Old 04-13-2009, 07:06 PM
TXjeepTJ
Registered User
 
TXjeepTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Magnolia and Lubbock TX
Posts: 1,024
for my ac i used the stock controls, just grounded out the compressor to the frame then bypassed all the 'check points' that the stock computer wants to check before turning the compressor on and fixed the bypass wire to the power supply on the back of my a/c controls. this is also wired to the fan to kick it on when the compressor goes on. i used to have the toggle switch to turn the compressor on, but i would rather have it set up to work as if it was stock

btw thanks for including me in the threads

TXjeepTJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 28 Old 04-13-2009, 07:18 PM
TXjeepTJ
Registered User
 
TXjeepTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Magnolia and Lubbock TX
Posts: 1,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielgoforth View Post
You don't need to pull a VSS. Mine was built into the tranny/tcase adapter. Personally I found that the Novak site offered a lot of good info.

http://www.novak-adapt.com/
I think he meant VATS, he PMed me asking about anything he needs to know and I think I told him VSS (IDK what I was thinking.. Vehicle Security System? lol) needed to be removed from the PCM

so, VATS lol- Vehicle Anti-Theft System
TXjeepTJ is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 04-16-2009, 08:04 AM Thread Starter
Giviner
Registered User
 
Giviner's Avatar
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 1,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXjeepTJ View Post
for my ac i used the stock controls, just grounded out the compressor to the frame then bypassed all the 'check points' that the stock computer wants to check before turning the compressor on and fixed the bypass wire to the power supply on the back of my a/c controls. this is also wired to the fan to kick it on when the compressor goes on. i used to have the toggle switch to turn the compressor on, but i would rather have it set up to work as if it was stock

btw thanks for including me in the threads
Thanks for the info. Can you elaborate any on the part I bolded above? From what I can tell, you're saying you totally bypassed the computer control for the AC and ran power directly from the back of the stock panel (through a relay I assume)? When you say it's wired to the fan i'm assuming you mean your main cooling fan?

Also, another question that i've been wondering about (mainly as I know next to nothing about wiring) is that if I am going with after market gauges is there any reason to keep the Jeep computer? Do any of the basic functions like turn signals, headlights, brake lights, heater controls, etc run through the computer? I can't see why they would, just curious.

2003 TJ Sahara
2010 WK
www.jeepsofmcmurray.ca
Giviner is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 04-16-2009, 09:29 AM
35GT1
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 35
I kept the Jeep computer so I could use the oil pressure, water temp (I know you're going aftermarket), but also the fuel gauge and speedometer, I'm not sure about the air bag stuff. I ended up with an aftermarket tach, didn't know there was someone out there that could wire in the factory onw.

47 CJ-2A (351 Cleveland), 74 CJ-5 (AMC 360), 97 TJ (5.3L Chevy), SCCA GT-1 Corvette (358, 920 hp). Check out dallandracing.com
35GT1 is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 04-16-2009, 09:59 AM
counselor
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 171
I've heard, but not ever actually seen, that there is a mount out there that relocates the a/c compressor so you won't have to notch the frame. Not that notching the frame is a huge deal, but the bracket may be a time saver. I think I read about it on pirate and maybe the guy said he got it on ebay. Sorry I don't have more info on that for you.
counselor is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 04-16-2009, 10:03 AM
V-8unlimited
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 592
I ditched my jeep computer, turn signals and all still work. I simply unplugged everything, took the ends from the wires in the engine bay, pulled all the wires, filled it with epoxy, and plugged them back into the jeep harness to keep the elements out of them. Also, if for some reason someone every put a stock motor back in, nothing is cut.
V-8unlimited is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 04-16-2009, 11:27 AM
DirtNMyTeeth
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dexter, Or
Posts: 124
This is a great thread thanks for all the good info
DirtNMyTeeth is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 05-07-2009, 07:41 PM
jeepzap
Registered User
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: california
Posts: 48
what would the gas mileage be if u drop a v8 into a jeep wrangler tj?

what would the gas mileage be if u drop a v8 into a jeep wrangler tj?
jeepzap is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 05-07-2009, 08:00 PM
lumpster
Web Wheeler
 
lumpster's Avatar
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: kansas City MO
Posts: 4,732
Garage
ther is a wide range, i got 14 in mine. 5.3 and 4l60e stock suspension, 31's.
lumpster is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 05-07-2009, 08:02 PM
LandoCommando
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY - upstate/central
Posts: 1,054
i never knew this thread existed... nice

Signatures are for attention whores.


Oh the irony.
LandoCommando is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 05-07-2009, 09:11 PM
WillysEdition04
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NE OHIO
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandoCommando View Post
i never knew this thread existed... nice
x2.

...but now it's linked in the Boot Camp thread.

04 TJ Willys Edition 41MB-04TJ ...SOLD
08 JK Unlimited
WillysEdition04 is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 05-07-2009, 09:15 PM
mudb8
want it rite or rite now?
 
mudb8's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Estacada, oregon
Posts: 5,977
http://forums.jpmagazine.com/70/6976...ome/index.html

I want your factory 07-up take-off/thrown out JK front/rear Lower Control Arms! Bent ones are perfect also as long as the bushings and cold cut rings are in good shape/useable


HighLine Hood Jeepers
TJ Adjustable Track bars
DIY highline fenders.... 34-37's under 0"-2.5" lifts
shock length, bumpstop extension, tire size chart click here
DIY shock shifters, more uptravel/better ride




2011 E-350 4x4 Van conversion

2006 Rubicon Unlimited

ASE Certified Master Tech/Fabricator @ jeepwest.com
mudb8 is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 05-12-2009, 09:04 AM Thread Starter
Giviner
Registered User
 
Giviner's Avatar
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 1,216
Updated the first post a bit with some new info.

I have begun the teardown on mine and I am just at the point where I have few connectors and bolts to undo and then I will be able to pull the motor/tranny/t-case as one unit.

Still trying to figure out what to do about my stock Jeep wiring as I don't want to keep the big bulky jeep harness in there when most of the wires in it will be largely un-used.

Parts are showing up slowly, hopefully I will be able to get a bunch more soon once I sell my stock drivetrain.

2003 TJ Sahara
2010 WK
www.jeepsofmcmurray.ca
Giviner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Another chev v8 swap Giviner TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 100 01-26-2010 12:48 AM
TJ Gen3 engine swap - wiring questions Giviner TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 7 05-14-2009 12:27 PM
Chev 350 engine swap could use wire info strd27 YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 5 08-10-2008 05:37 PM
Chev V8 Swap? Wallace TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 8 03-12-2007 02:18 AM
Chev 4.3L swap dartboy YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 2 04-15-2002 03:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome