Check engine light due to camshaft/crankshaft position sensor - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Check engine light due to camshaft/crankshaft position sensor

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 01-26-2009, 06:17 PM   #1
caseyLA
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Check engine light due to camshaft/crankshaft position sensor

Hi,

I replaced my '98 Wrangler engine last year with a remanufactured one. The crankshaft position sensor was connected when we pulled the old engine out. DOH...it snapped the sensor off it's mount, and so when we got the new engine back in and running, it was no surprise that it spit out a 1391 error code: "intermittent loss of either camshaft or crankshaft position sensor". So I replaced the crankshaft sensor with a new one. Still the error code. So then I replaced the camshaft sensor with a new one. Still the error code. I reset the PCM, but the check engine light keeps coming on.

So, I'm thinking maybe the wiring harness connector was damaged when we pulled the engine out, or possibly a short? Any suggestions would be great. My smog inspection is way past due now.

thanks!
-casey

caseyLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2009, 11:17 AM   #2
GOLENJEEPTJ
Running Secretly Amok!
 
GOLENJEEPTJ's Avatar
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ventura ,CA., California
Posts: 9,677
Did the new crank sensor come with the new paper gasket that goes on the tip of sensor?
GOLENJEEPTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2009, 11:19 AM   #3
GOLENJEEPTJ
Running Secretly Amok!
 
GOLENJEEPTJ's Avatar
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ventura ,CA., California
Posts: 9,677
Fill out your profile. Let us know what your Jeep is made up of.It makes it easier for people to help you out.
GOLENJEEPTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2009, 11:52 AM   #4
DaOne
Registered User
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: SouthEastern Pa.
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOLENJEEPTJ View Post
Did the new crank sensor come with the new paper gasket that goes on the tip of sensor?
This is important...if if did come with the sensor, and you didn't install it, it will trigger a code. Not all come with the paper gasket.

Quote:
Originally Posted by caseyLA View Post
So, I'm thinking maybe the wiring harness connector was damaged when we pulled the engine out, or possibly a short?
Definitely trace the wiring/connections from A to Z for that sensor.
__________________
...Sometimes, the more you see, the less you understand...

I miss my Jeep. On the hunt for a replacement.
DaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2009, 02:32 PM   #5
GOLENJEEPTJ
Running Secretly Amok!
 
GOLENJEEPTJ's Avatar
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ventura ,CA., California
Posts: 9,677
Yes it could trigger the code! Out of the FSM
Sensor With One-Bolt Mounting:
New replacement sensors will be equipped with a
paper spacer glued to bottom of sensor. If installing
(returning) a
used sensor to vehicle, a new paper
spacer must be installed to bottom of sensor. This
spacer will be ground off the first time engine is
started. If spacer is not used, sensor will be broken
the first time engine is started.
(4) New Sensors: Be sure paper spacer is installed
to bottom of sensor. If not, obtain spacer
PN05252229.
(5) Used Sensors: Clean bottom of sensor and
install spacer PN05252229.
(6) Install sensor into transmission bellhousing
hole.
(7) Push sensor against flywheel/drive plate. With
sensor pushed against flywheel/drive plate, tighten
mounting bolt to 7 N·m (60 in. lbs.) torque.
(8) Connect sensor pigtail harness electrical connector

to main wiring harness.
GOLENJEEPTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2009, 02:36 PM   #6
DaOne
Registered User
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: SouthEastern Pa.
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOLENJEEPTJ View Post
Yes it could trigger the code! Out of the FSM
Nobody said it wouldn't
__________________
...Sometimes, the more you see, the less you understand...

I miss my Jeep. On the hunt for a replacement.
DaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2009, 03:07 PM   #7
BlazinJack
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 592
Also, the cam position sensor and crank position sensor have to be in sync with each other. ive had that cause codes too.
__________________
"No beer and no t.v. make Jack something something..."
Colorado Jeep Club #145!!
Black Jeep Society
BlazinJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2010, 07:53 PM   #8
seabass2020
Registered User
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MO
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazinJack View Post
Also, the cam position sensor and crank position sensor have to be in sync with each other. ive had that cause codes too.
How are they in sync with each other???
seabass2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.