Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Cant get over 55mph

3K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  mukluk 
#1 ·
I'm BRAND new to Jeep's! Just bought a 97 Jeep TJ, had the fuel pump replaced & exhaust leak fixed. Before I got it fixed when I'd push hard on the gas it'd bog down, the fuel pump was the problem and it no longer does that. I still can't get it to go past 55mph for some reason! I'll get it up to 55 in 4th gear and when I shift to 5th it just stays at 55 and SOMETIMES barely gets up to 55. Here is what I have...

97 Wrangler TJ
168k miles
2.5L, 4cyl, 5 speed manual
4" rough country lift
33.12.5" Cooper Discoverer tires on 15" ion alloy wheels
Newer injectors, u-joints, tie rods & ball joints
New transfer case

#8 ·
With a 4 cyl 5 speed, a lift and 33's you can forget about 5th gear. If you have stock gears that's your problem. My 4 cyl with 4:88's would go 70 in fourth but I was really turning it hard. I rarely went over 65 in it.

Put some gears in it and it will go a little faster. If you don't like that I would go find a 6 cyl.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#9 ·
With a 4 cyl 5 speed, a lift and 33's you can forget about 5th gear. If you have stock gears that's your problem. My 4 cyl with 4:88's would go 70 in fourth but I was really turning it hard. I rarely went over 65 in it.

Put some gears in it and it will go a little faster. If you don't like that I would go find a 6 cyl.
Agree. And even a 6 cyl may not cut it. When I put 31's on my '93 4.0L I couldn't go over 60mph in 5th gear. I had to change the factory 3.07 gears to 3.73. That brought everything back to where it should be.

#10 ·
A 4 cylinder with stock gearing and 33's needs to have the rpms up to 3500 or higher to maintain speed before you shift IMO. I'd shoot for 4000 rpms and leave it in 4th.

#14 ·