Cant figure out why my TJ is lacking power. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Cant figure out why my TJ is lacking power.

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 07-11-2014, 07:09 PM   #1
thatwunguy
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Cant figure out why my TJ is lacking power.

To begin with, I am new to wrenching on my own vehicle, and really don't know what I'm doing at all. I just bought a jeep with a few problems with the intention of learning a few things. And so it begins...

I drove through a fair amount of water. The jeep is capable of passing through that depth of water, just not at the speed I was traveling. She stalled out and I had to wait a few minutes before it would start up again, but when it did it drove fine.

Two days later the girlfriend and I go out to enjoy the wilderness in our new toy, and it begins to chug and was requiring high RPM's for not so high power or speed. Within a few minutes of this obvious difference in performance it stalled and would not start at all. So, I towed it home.

Some two weeks later I have noticed a bad fuse and some electrical smoke while trying to get it running. I pulled my head light fuse and replaced the bad one and it started, but still barely drives. I can barely get it in to second or third gear and might max out at 35 or 40 mph on flat concrete. Again, it seems like I have to really get my RPMS up there to be able to get any sort of power from the wheels. And even then, it's barely enough to get going.