Big 3 (Battery cabling upgrade - custom) - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Big 3 (Battery cabling upgrade - custom)

Jeep LED Light Lights! OCONEE OFF-ROAD 706-534-9955RCV Axles at CCOR15 x 8 Black D-Window Steel Wheels Set of 4

Unread 03-21-2013, 12:07 AM   #16
Stinkbug

1997 TJ Wrangler 

I am just starting to learn about fusible links thanks to Knucklehead. I notice that this setup does not use one.

Is one always necessary between the alternator and PDC? If not always necessary what thoughts go into deciding whether to use one or not?

Last edited by Stinkbug; 03-21-2013 at 08:17 AM.. Reason: spelling - originally posted using tablet...
Stinkbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 12:50 AM   #17
Knuckelhead
AFSOC Retired

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Google it and start reading, here's one link...

http://www.ask.com/web?q=fusible+lin...9&o=4735&l=dir
Knuckelhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 04:43 AM   #18
5-90
1988 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinkbug View Post
I am just strating to learn about fusible links thankes to Knucklehead. I notice that this setup does not use one.

Is one always necessary between the alternator and PDC? If not alwats necessary what thoughs go into deciding whether to use one ot not?
Every vehicle I've worked on, made 1955 or later, has had some variety of fuse element in that circuit. Fusible link, PAL fuse, MAXI fuse, MEGA fuse - whatever. Doesn't matter, it was there.