BFG M/T or Good Year MT/R - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > BFG M/T or Good Year MT/R

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!

Unread 01-18-2004, 11:20 PM   #1
RIPPN TJ
2005 WK 

BFG M/T or Good Year MT/R

Since I never got a reply to my other post I thought I'd try again. I'm going to take my stock Good Year Wrangler GSA's off tomorrow and trade them in towards a set of 31x10.5x15's for my 04 TJ Sport. I've had BFG M/T's in the 31x10.5x15 on an old Toyota pickup that I had and was very impressed with their trail manners on my local trails and they seemed to do well on road as well. I have no experience what so ever with the new Good Year MT/R's. What should I go with for a daily driver who likes to go through the mountains off roading or getting to my favorite hunting hot spot. I don't plan on any real rock crawling other than those rocks I've got to cross that are already on the trail but I will see the mud holes often enough to want to be able to get through them. I live in VA so you locals may know from past experience what tires work well around here. I'd like to try the Good Year MT/R's but past experience is saying get the BFG M/T's. Let me hear some oppinions.

Unread 01-19-2004, 12:34 AM   #2
RIPPN TJ
2005 WK 

I forgot to ask if I'll have any rubbing or clearance issues going from the 30x9.5x15 to the 31x10.5x15 with a completely stock 04 TJ. It'll be quite some time (unfortuneatly) before I install a lift so I'm going to run whatever tires I get for quite some time and I don't want to worry about hitting my flares or anything like that.
Unread 01-19-2004, 01:11 AM   #3
Kris B Krunch
1997 TJ Wrangler