Beware Rugged Ridge XHD Seats - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Beware Rugged Ridge XHD Seats

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 05-30-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
tennesseejoed
1999 TJ Wrangler 

Beware Rugged Ridge XHD Seats

I bought a set of Rugged Ridge XHD "Rubicon style" seats for my recently purchased 1997 Wrangler Sahara. The stock seats were old, worn out, and must have gotten wet in the car's past life as they had an unpleasant odor about them.

I am new to the Jeep DIY world, but pretty handy overall. These things were a nightmare to install, and I want to give warning to others about my experience.

The seat itself is decent quality. But they are pretty uncomfortable. The description of them says the seat bottom is extra "wide to cradle the rider in comfort". They provide good back support, but very uncomfortable for me as the seat bottom bolsters make for a tight squeeze. Well, I am 6'2" and 220 pounds, so figured it was just that I am a big guy. But a woman friend of mine who is all of 125 pounds says they are uncomfortable for her, too for the same reason. Not terrible for around town, but I don't look forward to any road trips of any length in my jeep.