Backspacing make Jeep less "Tippy"? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Backspacing make Jeep less "Tippy"?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 10-10-2004, 10:09 PM   #1
Bethlehem
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Backspacing make Jeep less "Tippy"?

Can the right backspacing make my Jeep less "Tippy"? I'm new to Jeeps and I can certainly handle the stock Sahara, but I want to lift it soon and I'm wondering if the right backspacing will help with this "tippy" feeling. Once it's lifted I fear it will be worse.

Bethlehem is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-10-2004, 10:14 PM   #2
Jerry Bransford
Do it right or not at all

2004 TJ Wrangler 

Less backspacing on the wheel will cause it to protrude out of the wheelwell further and thus give the Jeep a wider stance. You think it feels tippy? Remember, news organizations and Consumer Reports love to scare people about Jeeps and SUVs because it sells magazines and brings advertising $$$... but Jeeps are not really "tippy" if you don't build them incorrectly or if you don't try to drive one like a Porche or Corvette and take corners at 80 mph.

Coolest offroad magazine ever! CRAWL Magazine

When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-10-2004, 10:35 PM   #3
FlexyTJ

maybe but not by much. wide tires aired down will help as well as the sway bar being disconnected, as this allows the body to stay level even when the axles are not. also your jeep will lean so, so, much more than you think before anything drastic happens.
Unread 10-10-2004, 10:39 PM   #4
Jerry Bransford

2004 TJ Wrangler