Backpressure normal on stock exhaust? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Backpressure normal on stock exhaust?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 11-01-2009, 09:18 PM   #1
TJ4JT
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Backpressure normal on stock exhaust?

2004 TJ Sport, 242ci I6, 5sp man... The RPM drop after a rev is a little slow for my liking. I would think that the quicker it is able to drop back to idle would be better. I feel like I'm not getting as much power to the wheels or trans b/c of the back-pressure. I'm not a mechanic, that's why I'm asking. Am I right? Do most people upgrade the exhaust, or is it something that most of the time is overlooked?

TJ4JT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-01-2009, 09:34 PM   #2
Max-Q
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Some backpressure on a normally aspirated engine is needed. The speed the engine revs up and down would be more related to the weight of the flywheel rather than the engine's backpressure.
Max-Q is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-01-2009, 10:07 PM   #3
TJ4JT
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Hey, Thank you for the insight. On an unrelated note, how do you like the rhinoliner? How much was it to install? How long was the cure time, if any? Do you still use your floor mats? I want to do it, but it's kind of semi-permanent, and I don't want to do something I'll regret...
TJ4JT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-01-2009, 10:32 PM   #4
dbbd1

2003 TJ Wrangler