Another newby asking about lift kits - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Another newby asking about lift kits

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO December Specials at Jeephut.com

Unread 08-19-2014, 11:48 PM   #1
NumbSkull
2005 LJ Wrangler 

Another newby asking about lift kits

I'm new to the jeep game, and been trying to wrap my head around the choices for lift that's still decent quality and reasonably priced.

I've got an 05 LJ that currently has a set of 31" tires on stock suspension. It looks good, but I would like to get it in the air a bit. The tires on it now are practically new, but I would like to move up to some 33s in the future. I'm thinking a 3-4" lift would be good spot. It might look a little empty with the 31s, but should look good with the 33s.

I'm trying to build the Jeep for that I can take wheeling, but still mild enough for some pavement time. Its not a daily driver, though it will probably see more road than trail.

I would like to spend around $1000 for the kit, but could go higher if needed. I would like to find something that is complete and can done in my driveway. I'm pretty comfortable mechanically, but I would prefer a kit that doesn't require me to redrill the mounting locations for any of the connecting arms or bars... Drilling for "non-alignement" related attachments is okay.

I've been digging through the endless number of threads on the subject, but I'm not seeing much when it comes to identifying quality lifts that don't require redrilling the mount locations.

So.. I thought I would ask those with experience.. And anyone else who wants to put their 2 cents is is welcome as well.