AC only works on HIGH - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > AC only works on HIGH

JcrOffroad Black Friday Sale!Black Friday Sale - Deep Discounts from ExtremeTerrain.com6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!

Unread 08-17-2012, 08:01 AM   #1
sajeepgirl
2001 TJ Wrangler 

AC only works on HIGH

The AC on my 2001 TJ will only work on the highest setting. I know there is a seperate fan for that and that the fan that controls the lower settings may not be working. I am a complete novice on auto repair. Does this sound familiar to anyone? Any ideas on how to fix it? Thanks!

sajeepgirl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-17-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
SlackJaw
baby jeep

2004 TJ Wrangler 

Search "blower motor resistor" or the like, and you should find a ton of info on here.
Unread 08-17-2012, 08:24 AM   #3
Jimb726
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Unless I am mistaken it will most likely be either the blower resistor (very likely) or the resister pack (not nearly as likely). Part is about $60 at the part store and takes about 15 minutes to install.
Jimb726 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-17-2012, 08:53 AM   #4
TheRealKTrain
1998 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajeepgirl View Post
The AC on my 2001 TJ will only work on the highest setting. I know there is a seperate fan for that and that the fan that controls the lower settings may not be working. I am a complete novice on auto repair. Does this sound familiar to anyone? Any ideas on how to fix it? Thanks!
We live in Houston, it's either no top and doors, or A/C on high, I fail to see the issue here

Μολὼν λαβέ
TheRealKTrain is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message