Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

7 years of lifted Jeeps....now this (dw)

3K views 47 replies 15 participants last post by  bobthetj03 
#1 ·
First off....let me just say it really sucks to A) Have a lifted Jeep as your DD when combined with B) Having no knowledge of wrenching at all.....zero....total noob.

As much as I would love to work on my jeep......its my DD, and I can't risk it. Friggin everyone else seems to have friends that know how to work on cars,....or their dad taught them how to work on cars.......but not me.....oh nooo...not me.

With that said......
My TJ (got about 7 months ago).....slowly developed a small shimmy here and there,.....highly intermittent.....then last month or so hit a bump and bam! Steering wheel posessed....cranking from 10oclock to 2-3 oclock...I slowed to a crawl it stopped. Did this twice.

Now this morning,....turn outta my street and as soon as I get around maybe 42mph....bam! Hardcore back and forth 10oclock-2oclock....repeat.
Not a shimmy,.....felt like entire front end was jumping left to right and back....

Slowed.....tried to get up to speed again....and it starts again....I slowed BEFORE it got hardcore.....but it was gonna do it.

Drove at 34mph towards work,.....dropped it off at (please god help me) Firestone. Told them the deal.
I got a call from him,...the "middleman" said something about fittings with no grease (um....dont think so)......then balancing tires.....
I pushed the "did you REALLY check the trackbar....like check the boltholes...etc"...he wasnt sure (ofcourse...since he's the middleman)...assured me they would check that....etc.

Anyway,.....this is gonna suck I am sure. No doubt I will pick it up and it will happen right away. They are putting balancing compound in the tires....and checking alignment....etc..etc.....

And so begins my journey....not just to fix the DW,....but to even find a shop that can help (I live in the middle of nowhere).

Have a nice day.