4 Cyl. towing capacity? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 4 Cyl. towing capacity?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineThe Solution to Radius Arm Bind - Meet Lock-N-LoadFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Unread 09-03-2003, 07:13 AM   #1
Sporty76

4 Cyl. towing capacity?

The 4 Cyl. automatics have a towing capacity of 1000 lbs. but the manual transmission is not recomended for towing. Does anyone know why this is? Do they just have a really weak clutch or is the tranny just not capable of handling a load like that?

Are there any clutch upgrades around that would allow a 4 cylinder manual tranny to tow a trailer?

Sorry for all of the question but I am new to jeeps and any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Frank

Sporty76 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-03-2003, 10:17 AM   #2
Jerry Bransford
Administrator

2004 TJ Wrangler 

Who said the manual tranny is "not recommended for towing"? I ask because Jeep's official towing limit for a Jeep with a 2.5L engine and 5-speed is 2,000 lbs, while as you know the 2.5L and automatic is only 1,000 lbs. It sure looks like Jeep feels the 5-speed is more capable than the automatic is for towing purposes.

Coolest offroad magazine ever! CRAWL Magazine

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-03-2003, 11:07 AM   #3
Sporty76

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford