33's on a Dana 35??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 33's on a Dana 35???

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGBds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rockEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 01-21-2011, 06:29 PM   #1
ColdWeatherTJ
1998 TJ Wrangler 

33's on a Dana 35???

I am new to the jeep family. I have wanted a purchase a jeep for many years I finally did today. I purchased a 98 wrangler sport. I have the 4.0L and the 5 speed manual. It has the D30 front and the D35 rear. I know that the D35 can be problems.

I have searched many threads about putting larger tires on the wrangler. Many posts say that the D35 is only good to about 32 inch tires, others say 33 inch. nobody seems to state if these people are running lockers or not.

I would like to put a 33 x 10.50 or a 33 x 1250 on mine for now, but I have no problems leaving the open differential. The jeep is an extra vehicle for me and the only time it goes in 4 wheel drive is when it happens to snow alot.

I hope to do some wheeling after the jeep is built up a bit which would include a D44 for the rear, but at this time all the driving will be very mild.

So the questions stands can D35 with an open diff stand up to 33 inch tires?

Any help or info would be great.

ColdWeatherTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-21-2011, 06:32 PM   #2
TheDirtyGeneral

Im running 33x12.50 on my open d30 and d35 and no problems but I also have 3.73 gears. your 3.07 gears will make your jeep feel like it has a lot of drag. mine already feels like its dragging a lot with the 3.73
Unread 01-21-2011, 06:32 PM   #3
JBTJ
JEEPer For Life

2001 TJ Wrangler