2003 Rubicon Speedsensor/speedometer issue - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-21-2017, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
descent03
2003 TJ Wrangler 

2003 Rubicon Speedsensor/speedometer issue

Hey guys,

Recently got the p0500 speed sensor CEL along with a speedometer that doesn't work, just sits at 0mph and never moves.

Tried so far

Replaced the speed sensor - speedometer still doesn't function
removed the cluster and cleaned the connection and tested for loose pins - speedometer still doesn't function
ran the self diagnostic on the cluster and the speedometer does run through the diagnostics along with all other cluster lights and functions.
all fused are fine

Only issue I am having is the speedometer, the tac and all other gauges work (not sure about the odometer, will need to check that out)

Can anyone run me through how to test the connection from the PCM to the cluster and from the sensor to the PCM. I am not a novice for DIY but anything with electrical systems makes me nervous.

Not sure if it is related but I have also been having issues recently with the radio randomly kicking off, speakers and head unit. I suspect that is a bad harness and will be taking a look at that tomorrow but not sure if I should consider them related.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-22-2017, 06:59 AM
NotURMailman
Web Wheeler

2005 TJ Wrangler 

DISCLAIMER:
I wrote this up using a 2005 TJ FSM and am assuming there were no changes in this system between 2003 and 2005.

I am telling you what I would do to test the wiring, no guarantees here.

Dig into your electrical and vehicle control systems at your own risk.

Unless you are testing for power I strongly recommend you do all circuit testing with the battery disconnected.

On the black 38 way PCM plug C1:
pin 18 has an 18 gauge bark blue wire with an orange stripe that is the signal wire from the sensor.

On the speed sensor plug: