2002 Sahara will not crank-HELP! - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Knuckelhead
  • 1 Post By NotURMailman

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-20-2017, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
dgray2001

2002 Sahara will not crank-HELP!

I will be the first to admit that I am not a mechanic. However, I have had my "baby" since October of 2002 and know how my Jeep runs. The last few months it has felt like the gas is not getting to the engine (if that makes sense) when I go to crank it up. My 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara edition has been good to me, but the last few months has had a difficult time cranking. Sometimes, it cranks up fine, but other times, it sputters, whines, or simply does not crank.
I have done all of the following over the past three months: new battery, new starter, new crankshaft position sensor, $900 in transmission work, and a new fuel pump.
Each time, it cranks up well for a week or so, and then goes back to the same old tricks. I have taken it to two trusted mechanics here in town and even to the Jeep dealership/mechanic. No one can find anything "wrong" with it and all say the engine is running great. So, these are all things (listed above) that they have TRIED to fix the problem with (well, I replaced the battery myself, and it was time-7 years old). I just had the fuel pump replaced two weeks ago and thought that was it, as it had been running and cranking well. That is, until tonight. I went to crank it up and it sputters and then nothing. I've tried 5-7 times and it will not turn over. Does anyone have any idea what is going on? Any insight or help would be much appreciated. Thank you!!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-20-2017, 10:35 PM
Knuckelhead
AFSOC Retired

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Cranking = the engine rotating by the starter turning the crankshaft.
Starting = the engine crankshaft rotating when being driven by combustion in the cylinder heads...
Jerry Bransford likes this.
post #3 of 6 Old 04-21-2017, 10:59 AM
NotURMailman