04 2.4L air leak when gas pedal is pressed - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > 04 2.4L air leak when gas pedal is pressed

Huge Soft top SaleSYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140SALE PRICING, Specials, Huge Savings Alloy USA and Posi-Lo

Unread 04-19-2009, 01:12 PM   #1
SpriggZ
2004 TJ Wrangler 

04 2.4L air leak when gas pedal is pressed

Hello I'm relatively new to the Jeep world as well as the mechanical world so please bear with me. My 2004 4 cylinder 2.4L 5 speed manual transmission Jeep TJ seems to have an air leak coming from somewhere. Whenever I press on the gas pedal you can hear air being blown out somewhere. Now it's not a constant blowing sound, just as soon as I press on the gas pedal. I'm assuming its the plastic air intake manifold that has a leak somewhere? If so, how much should this cost to repair and where can I find this part? Auto Zone and O'Rileys didn't have it.
Also for what it's worth, whenever I start my engine cold it doesn't want to stay started. I have to constantly keep on the gas and if I take my foot off the gas, the engine stalls on me. Would this be caused by a faulty sensor or would this have to do with the air leak?

Thanks!

SpriggZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-19-2009, 01:51 PM   #2
GOLENJEEPTJ
Running Secretly Amok!

2002 TJ Wrangler 

Sounds like a vacumm leak?Check for disconnected or bad hoses at manifold area?Welcome to JF!
GOLENJEEPTJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-01-2013, 10:02 AM   #3
Trevelyan
2006 TJ Wrangler