JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Jeep CJ Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   ZJ driveline in a CJ (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/zj-driveline-cj-975337/)

84ZJ7 02-19-2010 01:39 PM

ZJ driveline in a CJ

Hello, I'm new to the Jeep community and figured this would be the best place to get answers. I have a 84 cj7 304 with i believe a 904 tranny and as far as i know, stock everything as far as axles and suspension. The springs are flipped to the top of the axles is about the only suspension mods i can see. Also im running 35x15.50 tsl-sx tires. I'm new to Jeeps so my knowledge is pretty limited as to what im looking at so far. I inherited the Jeep from a friend that passed away. Got it running and put the tires on and thats about it. I love the Jeep and want to make it as good as i can (afford). I also have a 96 grand cherokee v8 quadratrac and an extra with the same stats that is totaled but the driveline is still perfect, which leads me to the question i have.

Can I put the ZJ suspension and driveline under a cj7 or at least axles tranny and transfer case since they are quite a bit better from what i understand than the what is under there now. From what i know so far the v8 ZJs used dana 44A and have 3.73s and i would like to have the coil over instead of the old leafs. Im aware that the dif is on the wrong side so i pretty much need the whole drive line to make this happen properly or am i dreaming up a frankenstein that is too much work to make happen. Thanks for any help

CSP 02-19-2010 01:49 PM

You can do anything with the right tools, knowledge, or money to let someone else do it. Do you have one or all of those things?

The D44a is a POS, so scrap that idea. You'd be much better off with a Ford 8.8 or something along those lines.