YJ Windshield Frame on CJ / ? Top ???? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > YJ Windshield Frame on CJ / ? Top ????

Currie Antirock, Currectlync & Lift Kits on Sale!Oconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 09-25-2002, 03:58 AM   #1
Scrambler82
1982 CJ8 

YJ Windshield Frame on CJ / ? Top ????

I have a bobbed CJ-8 and plan a YJ Windshield frame, will a stock CJ Top attach to the YJ frame ?

Reason: I am new to the Jeep think, I have always driven Ford Trucks and thought a closed in vehicle would be different. Looked at everything out there and decided the Jeep would be the way to go. So, looking at the deforster setup I thought the YJ was a better design than the CJ and also a friend had a YJ frame he gave me. I am now interested to find out if there is a differance between the YJ hard tops and the CJ hard tops, please help!

Thanks,

Do it right the first time !
Scrambler82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-25-2002, 09:10 AM   #2
CSP

Well the defroster ducts in the windshield won't line up with the ones on the CJ cowl. The tabs that keep the windshield upright also don't line up between the two.

As far as tops go they are very similar. The rear liftgate is where the big difference is. On a CJ you open the liftgate and then the tailgate. On a YJ you open the tailgate first and then the liftgate. The YJ top will work on a CJ if you grind a lip off the bottom of the liftgate. The YJ windshield frame isn't necessary to run a YJ top though.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-25-2002, 05:21 PM   #3
Scrambler82
1982 CJ8 

Thanks for replying.