Wrecked CJ5 - Purchasing Help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Wrecked CJ5 - Purchasing Help

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!!

Unread 04-26-2011, 08:28 PM   #1
ilikethemalot

Wrecked CJ5 - Purchasing Help

Hi,
For all intents and purposes, I'm fairly new to the Jeep world. I've done a fair amount of research (and stayed in the background on this forum) but I've actually come to an actual possibility of buying. One thing to mention is that I'd much rather spend under $1000 or so and then be able to spend two or three times that into fixing it up. And as a side note, I'm gone through a fair amount of engine and body work on various cars.

So to cut to the chase, I found a wreck 1978 CJ-5 with a 232 I6 (or at least the VIN says so...) It has significant damage on the hood, drivers fender, and a large dent in the drivers side tub. The windshield is busted (not sure of the windshield frame condition) and the radiator is pushed slightly into the radiator fan. There is no frame rust from what I have checked and the only tub rust is where it mounts to the frame. The odometer reads 58K and the seats are red material with 2X4's under their front mounts so they fit right. Also, the steering wheel is bent up . The rear driveshaft is also separated at the spline, not broken but pulled apart even though everything is still connected(?). For a positive, the owner claims it runs good although I am not sure as to how since the radiator fan cannot spin. Now, what I am asking is if it is too far gone or worth the price. He wants $800 but I am planning on offering $400 and I can't see anything over $550 being worth it.