Wont Crank/ No AUX power for anything! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Wont Crank/ No AUX power for anything!

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 05-08-2013, 12:13 PM   #1
NickP84CJ7
1984 CJ7 

Wont Crank/ No AUX power for anything!

This is my first project car and im strating to get frustrated, i need advice!!

I am working on a 1984 CJ7 4.2L 258 recently it just died on me wouldnt start up, so what I did was order an HEI distributor thinking I might as well get rid of the computer all together and elminate that problem (at least thats what i was told i could do?)

I have replaced the following:

Fuel tank
Starter
Temp sensor
Solenoid
Battery
Battery cables to solenoid/ to starter from solenoid
HEI distributor
Spark plugs
Spark plug wires
Fuel Pump
And i have a new CARB coming tomorrow

My issue now is that it will NOT crank over whatsoever and I have no power to anything, headlights, turn signals, wipers, Nothing! and I cant for the life of me figure out why. Everything is new.

However before I installed the new HEI I could at least attempt to crank it over (nothing would happen, but it would try too) Not sure if i had power or not then, it was kinda sitting for a week before I got the HEI and didnt really notice.

Ive had many people tell me they think its the Fusbile Link, whats your opinion?

And if so any good explanation as how to replace other then follow the wire and disconnect and replace with a new one, or is it just that simple?

Or could it be something else?

Someone please help!!

Just a reminder there is NO longer a computer.

Thanks a bunch,
NICK

NickP84CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-08-2013, 12:18 PM   #2
ROB03HD