Wires to gas gauge - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 21 Old 08-15-2013, 05:26 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by boojeep View Post
Like the title from the old tv show 8 might be plenty. Thought about it at work today, having a 'glass body, would it be a good idea to have a separate ground wire on the dash panel? Maybe I'll run a wire anyway after all it won't hurt will it? If not that means I get to drop the tank again. An old factory saying is coming to my head now. "We do it nice we do it twice" Thoughts?
it's like the 55 MPH speed limit. It's not only a good idea, It's the law....




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John Strenk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 21 Old 08-15-2013, 05:28 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by boojeep View Post
After a separate ground wire from the tank to the cross member[ flapwheeled to bare metal] and secured tightly still not reading.Further inspection of the wires to the gauge revealed to me that the pink and red wire got put on the wrong terminals. Doing that with a dim light [cause thats all i had]in the drop light. Tonight i used a led flashlight and made this awesome discovery. What kind of ultra fantastic damage have I done now? Quickly approaching the screwit mode.
50-50 chance it might recover.

You could of burnt up your gauges AND sensors.

Just do a resistance test again and see how they fared.
If they are OK chances are they will recover.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John Strenk is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 08-15-2013, 06:19 AM Thread Starter
boojeep
Registered User
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: rochester
Posts: 320
Ok John. Clue me on the resistance test as I'm not sure what you mean.
boojeep is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 08-15-2013, 11:34 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,808
its outlined in one of the links in my signature.

there are some resistance test you can do on the gauge and some you do on the sending unit.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John Strenk is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 08-18-2013, 04:42 PM Thread Starter
boojeep
Registered User
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: rochester
Posts: 320
Oh yeah those links. With 3" in the tank, yeah I measured, approximately where should the gauge indicate approximately?
boojeep is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 08-21-2013, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
boojeep
Registered User
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: rochester
Posts: 320
Tonight I decided to verify that the gas gauge really does work before i re install the tank again. ran a jumper ground from the battery to the ground on the the tank. Ok. Put the test light on the S terminal and the gauge works. Take the test light off the terminal and it doesn't work. I'm confused now. A stupid easy fix or something I can't see. Some help is needed here please. TIA.
boojeep is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome