Will a IH T19 work in my cj5 - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-03-2013, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
t600
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reynolds
Posts: 304
Will a IH T19 work in my cj5

I have a T150 that's jumping out of gear and was thinking about doing a 4 speed conversion instead of rebuilding. I would like having the granny gear with my 3:54 axel ratio. I was thinking about the ford T18 but today a friend offered me a IH T19. He thought I would need to get the input shaft machined shorter, other wise thought it would be the same as the T18. wondering if anyone on JF could shed some light on this for me. I have searched for a while but only found info on the ford T19. I also have a 304/D20. Thanks in advance!

t600 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-03-2013, 09:52 PM
seabass1858
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hanover
Posts: 1,404
seabass1858 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-04-2013, 07:50 AM
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 15,615
Impractical is the word. The IH transmissions thread into the bellhousing from inside the bell. I'm not sure what bellhousing you would use.
CSP is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-04-2013, 08:16 AM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert
Posts: 16,761
The Ford T-19 makes a great CJ tranny. It's as bullet-proof as a T-18 with the additional benefit of synchronized gears.

The IH T-19 sounds like an odd-ball that wouldn't be worth the effort to stick in a CJ.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-24-2014, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
t600
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reynolds
Posts: 304
Found a ford T18! I'm going to start the swap when the weather warms up a little. If I'm set up for the T18 and later find a T19, would it be an easy swap? Also I read that I either need to do a 1'' body lift or lower the trans crossmember to make it fit, I'm thinking body lift as to not loose ground clearance. Any suggestions guys?
t600 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-24-2014, 11:33 AM
TIPPEDITOVER
In the garage
 
TIPPEDITOVER's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puyallup
Posts: 2,048
T18 is a great trans. Has a great 1st (granny gear) which you pretty much just use offroad. Good for super slow. It's basically a 3 speed with a crawler gear.

Most T19's don't have the awesome 1st (granny gear). Most are like 4.02:1 or something like that. 1st gear is synchronized. Because of 2nd gear being 2.41:1, it is truly a 4 speed and you will always be using 1st gear for normal driving. Try to start out in second and it will do it, but it will be a dog.

For clearance just trim the floor. I can't imagine it needing that much trimming to fit. If you drop the cross member rear drive line angle improves, but at the expense of front driveline angle (worsens). 1" body lift can be helpful in resolving a multitude of clearance issues, but opens up other issues, like will your steering stretch far enough, will your clutch continue to work, now there's a space between bumpers and body. Those are just a few off top of my head, I'm sure there's more.

"Societies that lose the cohesion needed for concerted, collective action collapse, either by failing to meet an external threat or from internal conflicts."


Shaun

1978 CJ5 Wheeler
1997 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 all stock daily driver - SOLD
TIPPEDITOVER is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-25-2014, 08:26 AM Thread Starter
t600
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reynolds
Posts: 304
Thanks for the info on the 1st gear, didn't know that about the T19. I thought I herd something about using some scout 4 speed parts to make it work, I think it was the main shaft. I do have access to them if needed. Any idea?
t600 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-25-2014, 02:25 PM
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 15,615
Not sure what you're referring to with using Scout parts. To make what work?
CSP is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-26-2014, 09:46 AM Thread Starter
t600
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reynolds
Posts: 304
To fit the ford T18 in place of my T150. I've read lots of swap info, probably got mixed up in my head. Pretty common problem...
t600 is offline  
Reply

Tags
4 speed , t150 , t18 , t19

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome