Will a holley 6425 drown my 258? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Will a holley 6425 drown my 258?

JK Front 3 Link Prototype - Clayton Off RoadDon't forget the Jeep Forum discount, 10% off!Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 02-19-2013, 02:07 PM   #1
blaylock6502

Will a holley 6425 drown my 258?

I was thinking about ordering a new intake from clifford performance but it says its made for no less than 350 cfm. Right now I just have the 1bbl and was going to put a cam in new intake and carb. I'm a gm factory trained tech but at the age of 29 working on carbs may as well be working on alien spacecraft. I have a holley 6425 which from what I've seen is a 650 cfm 2 barrel.? Is this too much or is there a chance or a way to make it work?

blaylock6502 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-19-2013, 02:48 PM   #2
19jeep85
1985 CJ7 

Way too much carb by about 2 times the CFM. Get a 2100/2150 motorcraft or even a Weber. Also IMO stay away from the Clifford intake as its for high reving motors.
Unread 02-19-2013, 02:54 PM   #3
timgr
1975 CJ6 

A carburetor uses vacuum both as a signal and as power to meter the gas. If you have too big a venturi, the vacuum will be low and fuel metering will be poor. You can still make the big carburetor work by setting it up rich, so that the engine always has enough fuel.