Where to start!? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Where to start!?

Huge Soft top SaleRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits BLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!

Unread 03-23-2007, 10:14 PM   #1
sturoe

Where to start!?

I just got a 66 cj5 thats been kept in an airplane hangar, but hasnt been run in a while. It has the dauntess engine in it. I am curious to know where the heck to start on it. My first goal is to get it rolling with brakes and steering and an engine that runs stable. This is a big project for me, becasue im new to this. The only vehicles i have experience with are diesels, so i dont know where to start on this engine.

I want to start out somewhat minimalistic, as i am on a student budget.

any help is appreciated

stu

sturoe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-23-2007, 10:58 PM   #2
CGrugger

1985 CJ7 

What are your plans for it, rock crawler, dd, etc??

07 WK Limited: 4.7, QT-II
CGrugger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-23-2007, 11:16 PM   #3
John N
1981 CJ8 

Those engines are as close to bulletproof as almost any engine can be. 2 things to do to it are to replace the original timing chain and gears (they are/were nylon or plastic gears and crumble with age/use); the other is to clean out the oil pan.

Where in Va.?
John N is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-24-2007, 06:47 AM   #4
jeepin in maine