What is this thing - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
fiddy5cj5
Registered User
1955 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 117
What is this thing

Went out one day to start up the old jeep and it won't start and I hear some clicking noise I tracked it down by sound and touch and it's this little thing idk what the heck it is anybody have a clue and could it cause the the jeep not to start
It's a 1950 cj3a with a f head engine not a L head

Attached Images
 
fiddy5cj5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
fiddy5cj5
Registered User
1955 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 117
More pics
Attached Images
     
fiddy5cj5 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 09:56 AM
shadoow
Senior Member
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 582
first let me say i'm not familiar with jeeps of your vintage, BUT that item sure looks like an electrical overload, or some call them a circuit breaker. If so, inside the housing are bimetallic strips that separate (break the circuit) if heated too much by having too much current. They've been known to go bad and operate to open the circuit even though current isn't too high. You can hear them click when they reset themselves after cooling down. Hopefully it will be an easy replacement. If your system is 6v make sure you get one compatible for that voltage and the current rating.
shadoow is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
fiddy5cj5
Registered User
1955 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 117
Awha thank you I found one on eBay for 6 bucks it really helps if you know what it is your looking at when your trying to find a replacement lol
But this is why i love this forum such a wealth of knowledge
fiddy5cj5 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
fiddy5cj5
Registered User
1955 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 117
And it didnt fix the problem it's still making the popping noise. I got the same size breaker because I didn't see a need to go any larger I've been running that 50amp for about a year and who knows how long it was on there before I got it. I not sure what has changed for it to be doing this I haven't added any electronics or anything
fiddy5cj5 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 08:26 PM
shadoow
Senior Member
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 582
sounds like the circuit breaker is doing its job. What circuit is it located in??
shadoow is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome