What soft top works with a full rollcage? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > What soft top works with a full rollcage?

Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!GEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE Yukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon Zip

Reply
Unread 09-19-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
twokids
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: southern illinios
Posts: 138
What soft top works with a full rollcage?

Has anyone had a problem with the soft top if they have a full rollcage?
Don't want to order 1 and it not fit right or rub.
Thanks for any help.
PICS OF YOUR MAY HELP IF YOU HAVE ANY....

twokids is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2013, 01:49 PM   #2
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,493
I fitted my cage to clear the OEM soft top.
To many "ifs" here to say.
LG
__________________
Have'n you along, is like loose'n 2 good men
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2013, 02:27 PM   #3
Manhattan
Member
 
Manhattan's Avatar
1981 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 472
As LumpyGrits eluded - you have to start with the top, e.g. put the soft top on, and start measuring for the roll cage.





If you're using hard doors, don't forget to check for clearance - hard doors come in much further than soft doors... and often interfere with the A-pillar leg of the cage.
__________________
1981 CJ8, Chevy 5.7, SM465, D300, RE 4.5, 35" BFG MTs, 20/30 4.56, Detroits, Warn 9500ti
Manhattan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2013, 04:42 PM   #4
WindKnot
Web Wheeler
 
WindKnot's Avatar
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: , Northern Arizona
Posts: 2,671
As others have said, it depends on the cage. What's a FULL cage?

This...




Fits under this with no trouble...



It's a Bestop. Are you talking about a "Family cage"?
__________________
Paved roads are just for getting you to the starting point!
WindKnot is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2013, 06:25 AM   #5
Toine
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brabant, Netherlands
Posts: 43
If you have an Hardtop en doors put it on and measure, the softtop
( cj/yj supertop) will fit then for sure.
I used a family bar to modify as full cage with 2 knicked bars extra behind,
still have the space for 3 weekend bags on the Bestop Rack Tray.
dsc_1279.jpg

__________________
cj7 305 V8 TH-700R4 D300 lomax, front & rear D44 4.88 with detroit lockers, 4'' skyjacker lift, Doetsch Baja Ryders & u-bolt flip kits
Toine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2013, 06:30 AM   #6
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,195
If you are ordering a cage kit, call the manufacturer and ask them if it fits under the stock top.

Most cage 'kits' will. But best to ask.
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.