VIN number enquiry - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > VIN number enquiry

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 05-23-2003, 05:10 AM   #1
David Sant

VIN number enquiry

Hi all,
I have been restoring a 1986 CJ7 for the past five years, then today I finally took it for the vehicle roadworthiness test. Everything went well, until the operator went to verify the VIN number. When I showed him the VIN plate on the bulkhead, he told me that it was not enough and that I should have a number punched into the chassis someplace. Since I live on the tiny island of Malta (middle of the Mediterranean Sea) and there are only about four CJ7s around, no one seems to know where this number is (or whether there is one at all). Meanwhile, the CJ is back in the garage and I am despairing.
I would immensely appreciate any help possible to be able to solve this matter.
Mainly, I need to know whether there is any number anywhere else apart from the VIN plate on the bulkhead, and if so it's location. Also if there is no other number, where might I obtain some document or letter to prove this?
I appreciate any help and advice your may offer me.

Thanks
David

David Sant is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-23-2003, 05:27 AM   #2
Popol

oh boy do i sympathise with you, I live in Ibiza, there are maybe 5 cars here like mine (CJ7) and we too have a really hard road test, mine is due soon and i am struggling to get parts here, everything has to be ordered in, even a thermostat. There is a jeep garage on the island, but so far havent been able to source a single component.

As to your vin number, mine is 13 digits..