Valve Cover Troubles - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Valve Cover Troubles

Artec Holiday Sale!Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 01-27-2012, 03:07 PM   #31
gmgreen
1983 CJ7 

Thanks Keith, seems like everybody has their own way of doing things. It's taken about 4-5 hours getting off the old gasket and making sure everything is clean. Headed to AZ to get some scotchbrite pads and some brake cleaner to make sure everything is clean. Wish me luck I'm getting ready to bottom tap the bolt holes. I've never done anything like this before and it makes you feel good and I probably saved some money in the mean time.

gmgreen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-27-2012, 07:07 PM   #32
keith460
Jeep. There's Only One

1984 CJ7 

A word of caution if one is to drill and tap while the cylinder head is still on the engine. Have a shop vac or household vacuum cleaner with the hose attached and pulling chips away as you tap and drill. Greatly reduces the chance of having unwanted foreign material fall into the oil passage ways of the cylinder head.

Restoration Thread:http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums...d.php?t=434226
keith460 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-09-2012, 11:04 PM   #33
KidLoco747
1984 CJ7 

Well, fellas, finally got the the new aluminum valve cover on using the allen head bolts! Oh yeah, jacking up the transfer case was the trick that helped the valve cover clear the fire wall! Thanks for all the help and feedback.
KidLoco747 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-10-2012, 06:46 AM   #34
gmgreen
1983 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by KidLoco747 View Post