Valve cover remove SURPRISE! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Valve cover remove SURPRISE!

Spartan Locker's at all time LOW exclusive from ROCKRIDGE FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Bds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rock

Unread 05-15-2015, 06:20 AM   #1
STJP
Street Jeep

1985 CJ7 

Valve cover remove SURPRISE!

Cleaned up much of the crud on the driver side if the engine. The plastic valve cover may have been weeping for some time near rear on that side. I found the rear bolt missing and the one on the driver side nearest the firewall was loose. Removed the valve cover and this is the mess I found.

I am no engine expert, but this can't mean anything good. Would appreciate information re what would cause this and what to do about it.

I purchased this CJ 10 years ago and have driven it VERY little. What little I've driven it showed no engine issues. No smoke etc. From the day I've had it, have used top of the line full synthetic oil.

Thanks, STJP

img_1587-1.jpg   img_1581.jpg   img_1583.jpg   img_1584.jpg   img_1585.jpg  

STJP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-15-2015, 06:31 AM   #2
Jim1611
Web Wheeler

1985 CJ7 

I've seen guys empty all the oil then fill it back up with diesel fuel then let it run long enough to start warming up to clean junk like that up. I never saw any ill affects from it either. However you try to clean it up I'd for sure replace the oil pump.

My build thread
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/ji...build-1093702/
Jim1611 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-15-2015, 06:44 AM   #3
STJP
Street Jeep

1985 CJ7