Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Transmission ?

817 views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  JeffreyCharles 
#1 ·
I've got an 86 cj7 with a 3 speed transmission when it's cold it slips a lot, after it warms up it does fine. But thinking of replacing and really don't know what to go with Someone told me I would be better off letting a transmission shop build me one If I do this do I use the one in the jeep now r would it be better to find another one I'm at a total loss when it comes to this part of my jeep.

#2 ·
First thing I would try would be a fluid change. Its possible you aren't fully engaging the synchros when its cold because your oil is too viscous. You might even try a lighter weight oil, especially if you are in a colder climate. Worth trying before a rebuild/new trans.

#4 ·
Fill out your Profile and you may get more specific advice, still wrong but specifically wrong :p

#5 ·
I'm sorry but I'm new to this, I've went to my profile but there is nothing I can fine to fill out. This is only like my 12 r 13 post but I have to say I like it so far, the info I got from my post and by reading others is unreal When I first downloaded the app it said I had to do 25 post before I could use some features. But any help on any of it would be great

#7 ·
If it's slipping and a stock 3 speed I'm assuming you have an automatic?

IF you have a stock automatic it would be a TF999 transmission. Change the fluid, and adjust the bands. I have a couple of these in my shop but haven't done anything with them yet but do a lot of reading, but I remember SOMEWHERE online Jeephammer saying that a lot of the TF999's that people think need to be rebuilt really only need to have the bands adjusted.

Google it and I'll bet you can find instructions on how to do it. If not, I'll scan my manual I have and email you the PDF's.

#9 ·