Trail CJ build ?'s this is long but I like to get others ideas. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Trail CJ build ?'s this is long but I like to get others ideas.

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 09-15-2007, 12:58 AM   #1
texascj77

Trail CJ build ?'s this is long but I like to get others ideas.

I have been collecting CJ's for three years and still have the same decisions to make that I started with. I bought a 77 body on a 84 frame with worn 70something 304/t150/dana20, with a new pro comp 4" lift, and superior axle shafts rear, with wide track axles (2.73) gears on 33's and alum rims. The tub needed new floor boards front to rear, so I took it off and cut out the floorboards, now it sits that way.

I then bought a 86 sitting on a pair of 81 (narrow) axles with a trashed front ring and pinon, trashed frame, no engine, and a tub that needs steel replaced under the rollcage, and under the "JEEP" on the front rockers. So I took that body off of it and got about half the steel work done. I also bolted this 86 t176/D300 combo to my 304 with a new clutch in my 84 frame that has the lift and put in-frame headers and a flowmaster exhaust on the frame (still no body on it).

The 304 I have runs but it is tired, so I bought a 81 Cherokee Chief with a "built" 360/t176/208. I listened to the engine, it sounds good, has good oil psi and obviously has cam in it. It is still all bolted up and the Chief is complete minius driveshafts.

Now I bought a bone stock 83 cj7 with a worn out iron duke and near perfect everything else. I have been driving it everywhere, but the carb needs to be rebuild and it fogs mosquitos very well.