Towing with a leaky axle seal - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Towing with a leaky axle seal

XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoSYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140Stainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 04-30-2013, 03:52 PM   #1
sanctified
2013 JK Wrangler 

Towing with a leaky axle seal

So I had a leaky inner axle seal on the pass rear side when I bought my 7. I replaced the seal following some excellent instructions found here. That was 3 weeks ago and I noticed last Friday that I am leaking again from the same area. I'm not totally surprised since I'm a total noob and don't know what I'm doing but I had hoped it would hold.

Anyway, a couple buddies and I are planning on going to Moab the weekend of mothers day. (Don't fret, I'll be home by Saturday night) Its gonna be a Thursday, Friday, home Saturday night trip. I have a 2007 F350 and had planned on flat towing the Jeep the 250 miles mainly for the comfort but was also going to sleep in the bed of the truck. Problem is now with the leak back I am wondering if its a good idea to flat tow it.

So before I "fixed" it the first time gear oil was oozing down the tire and onto the cement below at a decent rate. Since noticing the leak again it isn't leaking the same way. It only seems to leak while driving and the oil is spinning around the wheel well a bit. Its not leaking down to the cement though when parked. I know its gear oil from the smell and it seems to be getting on the drum/shoe and is burning there a little after coming off the freeway.