Throbbin Rods CJ5 one part at a time overhaul. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Throbbin Rods CJ5 one part at a time overhaul.

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under

Unread 11-20-2013, 01:56 PM   #1
Throbbin Rods
1976 CJ5 

Throbbin Rods CJ5 one part at a time overhaul.

Hi all, I was a professional mechanic for many years until I became very allergic to battery fumes. Changed careers in 1979 and went on to work in manufacturing, equal time spent in Materials/Purchasing and IT for the last 35 years. I kept all of my tools, and have been fixing all of the family vehicles for all this time. I have owned several Jeeps, some I kept and some I sold. I buy 15-20 boats per year and rehab them to sell. I rebuild 40 boat carbs in an average year. I have been out of work on disability leave for the last 11 months, and am applying for Social Security Disability in January. About 3-4 weeks back, I swapped my 99 Suburban even for a 1976 CJ5 with 57000 miles on it. It has a new radiator, appears to be a 4 core. Also new starter, Fuel pump, Solenoid. In back end I found brand new rotors, calipers and pads for the front brakes, still in the box. Based on other old parts boxes I think the clutch is recent as well. Automatic choke is disconnected and a manual cable is run to the choke. Found that the choke plate was not closing all of the way. need to change out the stud to keep it from backing off that far.