Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

For those who have painted (or had someone paint) your CJ body

3K views 27 replies 11 participants last post by  Renegade82 
#1 ·
I am finally at the point in my project where it is time to have the body parts painted. I have found a reputable auto body and paint guy locally, and have no doubt he will do a great job.
My question is to those of you who have painted, or contracted someone else to paint your Jeep tub and other parts, how and in what order was it done. This is my first time doing any sort of project like this so any input is and greatly appreciated.

To clarify, the body has been completely assembled on the frame, and all holes have been cut or drilled. The only thing that may need to be adjusted is the size of the tunnel hole. Body mount, roll bar and seat bracket holes are all done. This will all be removed from the frame and delivered to the painter

My plan is to bolt the fenders to the tub, bolt on the grill and bring it to the paint guy that way. I am very happy with the way the fenders, frame and grill fit. So my thought process was to paint this as one piece, and this way all of the seams would get painted bolted together. The hood will be painted separately.

Then I was going to bolt the hinges to the windshield frame and bring that as one piece.

I will bring in the roll bar, dash panel and other small parts (glove box door, windshield frame adjustment plates) together.

I am concerned about the bolts, those that hold the body to the frame, and those that hold the roll bar to the body. I would really like these to be body color, but I am curious if I will be able to install these bolts without tearing off the paint?

Am I on the right track? Or even near it? What have others done?

See less See more
#2 ·
The best way is to have the tub, fenders, grill, hood, tailgate, windshield, and roll bar completely disassembled and painted separately. Then reassemble everything.