Thinking of doing the 4.0L HO Engine Change on my CJ7, Good? Pro / Cons? - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Thinking of doing the 4.0L HO Engine Change on my CJ7, Good? Pro / Cons?

Cess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WDGEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 02-16-2013, 09:01 AM   #16
SgtJensen
1982 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by aggiejon View Post
Sarge, you mentioned living in Tx. Where at? I like your plan for the stroked 4.0. I considered it with mine, but needed to get it back on the road and I knew the bottom end of the 258 was solid and sound, so I let that dog lie.

I am no expert on the efi by any stretch, but if you get into it and have questions, give me a shout. I took the wiring diagram and Pinout diagram for the donor harness and removed everything that I couldn't use for my jeep. Cherokees have lots more systems than cjs. But I did gain several relay circuits in the PDC. And the harness became much lighter quick.

Largest word of caution...I cobbled mine together from parts that I bought cheap from several sources, such as a complete siezed 4.0 motor from a 2001. That yielded a very desirable intake design. However, the throttle body was different from the 93 Engine harness, so it was swapped for a 93. Many of the sensors from 92-2001 look the same on the business end, but the plugs changed quite a bit. I still have a box full of sensors that were either from the 01 motor or picked at the junkyard. Take home message, get on Craigslist and buy a wrecked and running jeep w a 4.0 and strip it. Part it out or else roll it across the scales for $11/cwt.