Thinking about restoring a CJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Thinking about restoring a CJ

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineJeep parts, deals and more at JeepHut.comTJ BDS 2" suspension lift!! FINALLY a GREAT 2" l

Unread 03-20-2015, 06:58 PM   #1
tdashrom

Thinking about restoring a CJ

Just like the title says, I'm thinking about taking on a summer project of restoring a CJ. My brother and I want to work on something together while I'm back from school and I thought this would be a fun project. I just have some questions from current owners/people who have already restored them.

I have done next to no work on cars before, so this would be a learning experience. I'm studying mechanical engineering in school so this is kinda up the alley of what I would be learning later on or maybe want to do after school. Is it a difficult vehicle to work on? I definitely want to learn how everything works along the way but I'm worried if it's a difficult thing to repair.

My other question has to do with cost. I don't have an unlimited supply of money and from what I can see on Craigslist I should be able to pick up a CJ for around $1500. How much should I expect to spend fixing it up? If it's gonna be an extra couple thousand I might have to wait until I have a job with more income.

I really want to do this over the summer, but if it's not reasonable then I'd rather find that out beforehand. Thanks for any information!

tdashrom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-20-2015, 07:07 PM   #2
kovic
1983 CJ5