Temp gauge and fuel gauge quit - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 08-26-2009, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Foulplay
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 101
Temp gauge and fuel gauge quit

BOTH gauges quit all at once. One day they both worked, the next day neither of them work. I had to assume that I had a loose wire on the back of the gauges but I can't find anything wrong there. I also assumed that I had blown a fuse, but all fuses are good. Where do I go from here?


South Coast Jeeps

1978 CJ-7 Golden Eagle - 2013 JK Unlimited 3.5" lift

Last edited by Foulplay; 08-26-2009 at 02:30 PM.
Foulplay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 08-26-2009, 12:48 PM
RetiredSERE
Member
 
RetiredSERE's Avatar
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 449
Check and re-check your grounds.

Shoot, Move, Communicate

Admit to Nothing, Deny Everything, Make Counter Accusations...

I Feel Like a Monkey F***ing a Football..
RetiredSERE is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-26-2009, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
Foulplay
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 101
From what I can tell, the ground is good but I don't really know where all to check. I know that the body of the gauge cluster itself is grounded but where else should I check?

South Coast Jeeps

1978 CJ-7 Golden Eagle - 2013 JK Unlimited 3.5" lift
Foulplay is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-26-2009, 02:44 PM
JimNut
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 231
Check out these sites from John Strenk. Pretty much all the info you could ever want to learn about the gauges in a CJ.

Basic Troubleshooting for CJ gauges

CJ Speedometer Gauge Quick Test

The new Gauge Page

Build it, Wheel it, Break it, Fix it and Repeat!

JimNut is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-26-2009, 06:51 PM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,546
John Strenk is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-27-2009, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
Foulplay
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
You will need a test light or a volt meter to continue testing...

Thanks for your help, I have both and I will try to check this stuff out today around lunch time. Otherwise it will have to wait until tomorrow.

South Coast Jeeps

1978 CJ-7 Golden Eagle - 2013 JK Unlimited 3.5" lift
Foulplay is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-28-2009, 02:37 AM
carnuck
Registered User
1984 J-Series Truck 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,210
The temp gauge has a built in voltage regulator (bimetal spring)
carnuck is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-08-2012, 10:27 PM
JRRCJ5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 7
Ground

The Speedometer housing grounds to the dash itself throught the four mounting nuts.
JRRCJ5 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-09-2012, 01:48 AM
scottg73
Registered User
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Danville
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnuck View Post
The temp gauge has a built in voltage regulator (bimetal spring)

I think that's in the fuel gauge. It can cause both gauges to go out at once.
scottg73 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-09-2012, 03:35 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,546
Yes, it's in the fuel gauge in the OEM gauges.

Some newer gauges just use a resistor to regulate the power going into the gauge. These have a resistor in both the fuel and temp gauge so they can operate seperatly.
John Strenk is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-09-2012, 08:33 AM
JRRCJ5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 7
Gauges

This is really not a reply. the trouble I'm have is replaced both gauges. Soon as I put them in the dash they quit working. Checked all grounds good grounds. Any thoughts what to do next. Oh yeah burn up temp gauge have to buy another one. Grounded peg and puff gone.
JRRCJ5 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-09-2012, 09:43 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,546
So you grounded one of the terminals on the temp gauge and it burned up the temp gauge right away or was the terminal in contact with the case and it burned up after a little while.

Got a picture of the replacement gauges?
John Strenk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
TEMP GAUGE, FUEL GAUGE, AND SPEEDO HELP PlEASE cgi2099 Jeep CJ Forum 8 11-03-2009 05:49 PM
where to get new fuel and temp gauge hookntail Jeep CJ Forum 1 10-23-2008 07:29 PM
Speedo, Fuel Gauge and Temp gauge not working KYCJ7 Jeep CJ Forum 1 07-07-2008 12:41 PM
Fuel gauge, temp gauge HEADSPACEXXX Jeep CJ Forum 5 04-03-2008 05:26 AM
Fuel and Oil Gauge quit at the same time! 7DJEEP Jeep CJ Forum 5 03-11-2006 07:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome