Temp Gauge doesn't work - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Temp Gauge doesn't work

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Reply
Unread 10-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #1
ksufootball44
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: overland park, ks
Posts: 41
Temp Gauge doesn't work

I just replaced the fuel and temp gauges, fuel sending unit and temp sensor and now everything works except the temp gauge. I followed John Shrenk's troubleshooting document but I still can't figure out the issue.

Testing results:

Temp gauge =
1. "A" to "S" = 21ohms
2. light flashes testing temp sending unit
3. grounding sending unit doesn't make my temp gauge rise at all

Fuel gauge =
S to ground= 17 not 68 to 72
S to I = 19 - 21
S to A = 19 - 21
I to A = 0
I to ground = 17 not 49 - 51
A to ground = 17 not 49 - 51

**i have a ground wire from the speedometer to the - on the battery

ksufootball44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2013, 02:05 AM   #2
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler
 
BagusJeep's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bali, Indonesia
Posts: 4,093
HAve you tried grounding the terminal on the back that goes to the temp sending unit? Does it then move?
__________________
BagusJeep lives in Bali, the Land of Temples.
With a Jeep every prayer counts.

1981 CJ7 258ci - Bagusjeep
1984 CJ7 258ci - Puthijeep
1981 J20 258ci - Gladys
BagusJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2013, 08:13 AM   #3
ksufootball44
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: overland park, ks
Posts: 41
Sorry, I wasn't using a ground wire, I was using my test light as my ground wire. Once I grounded the temp gauge, it started to move.

Resistance measurement Temperature Sensor
Question- When I take my ohmmeter and connect one lead to ground and the other lead to the post on the temp sensor, I'm not getting any reading. (I should be getting at least 200 to 400 ohms at room temp). Does this mean my new temp sensor is bad? Also, if I remove my temp sensor to perform more test, how do you keep the coolant from running out?
ksufootball44 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.