Tachometers - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Tachometers

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 07-22-2013, 07:33 AM   #1
HeathFinnie
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 378
Tachometers

Did different engines use different tachs? I ask because I see some on eBay and some list the engine and others don't. Just curious.

Thanks!

HeathFinnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 07:43 AM   #2
walkerhoundvm
Registered User
1981 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Little Apple, KS
Posts: 3,090
Yes, all the originals were specific to the engine. The newer aftermarket Chinese junk tachs have a switch so you can change between engines.
walkerhoundvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 07:45 AM   #3
HeathFinnie
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkerhoundvm
Yes, all the originals were specific to the engine. The newer aftermarket Chinese junk tachs have a switch so you can change between engines.
Great- thanks!

If you find an OEM does it say which engine it works with?
HeathFinnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 08:35 AM   #4
walkerhoundvm
Registered User
1981 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Little Apple, KS
Posts: 3,090
I think there is a printed number - 4, 6, or 8cyl on the back?

You can see in this one I pulled from eBay that there's a "6" printed:

walkerhoundvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 09:38 AM   #5
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,967
The 4 cylinder was a different design. It hooked up to the (-) post of the coil...

the 6 and 8 was an inline or series tach.

After market stuff was 4-6-8 selectable.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 09:50 AM   #6
HeathFinnie
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk
The 4 cylinder was a different design. It hooked up to the (-) post of the coil...

the 6 and 8 was an inline or series tach.

After market stuff was 4-6-8 selectable.
Thanks. I want an OEM one so just wanted to know what to look for. I also have an HEI so no longer have a coil. (V8 304)

Thanks!
HeathFinnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 09:59 AM   #7
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,967
You still have a coil but it's under the cap..

a Stock Tach will work if it's inline with the power to the HEI distributor.
An aftermarket tach is needed to hook up to the TACH terminal on an HEI.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 10:08 AM   #8
lsukevinc
Registered User
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Geismar, Louisiana
Posts: 309
what tach will work with a MSD box?
lsukevinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2013, 11:06 AM   #9
HeathFinnie
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Scituate, MA
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk
You still have a coil but it's under the cap..

a Stock Tach will work if it's inline with the power to the HEI distributor.
An aftermarket tach is needed to hook up to the TACH terminal on an HEI.
Aftermarket like a crown OEM styled? My HEI does have a tach terminal that is currently connected to a huge sunpro tach mounted under the dash. I want to remove that and clean up my dash with an in-dash tach and I'm trying to get all the gauges back to stock style.


image-536745163.jpg
HeathFinnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2013, 04:44 AM   #10
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,967
I'd have to see it, if it has wires that looks like it goes to a set of earplugs off you iPhone then it will plug into the Tach plug. If the wires are big gauge like you can jump your battery with it, then it will hook up like original tach.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2013, 10:02 AM   #11
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
You still have a coil but it's under the cap..

a Stock Tach will work if it's inline with the power to the HEI distributor.
An aftermarket tach is needed to hook up to the TACH terminal on an HEI.
Is this true of any ignition system? Can I make the stock tach work with a later model 4.0 distributor/ignition?

I'm thinking if I splice the tach in K7 between S115 and the Cam Position Sensor? Or should it go inline with the coil (A142 after S109)? Or will this not work at all?
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2013, 10:13 AM   #12
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,967
The crank shaft position sensor run off a 5 volt supply. Might not be enough juice there for the tach.

The last would probably work better, Anywhere between the fuse and the (+) on the ignition coil
but the designation "Ignition coil #1" has me a little worried.

is there more than 1 coil?
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2013, 10:33 AM   #13
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
The crank shaft position sensor run off a 5 volt supply. Might not be enough juice there for the tach.

The last would probably work better, Anywhere between the fuse and the (+) on the ignition coil
but the designation "Ignition coil #1" has me a little worried.

is there more than 1 coil?
No, only one coil on my '98 4.0. Jeep switched to coil-on-plug sometime in the early 2000's.
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-13-2013, 08:34 PM   #14
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
The last would probably work better, Anywhere between the fuse and the (+) on the ignition coil
Yup, this works! Although, I did have to tap in AFTER S109... otherwise, the fuel injectors and computer were also drawing through the tach, and it would bounce all over the place.

Thanks for helping me figure this out!
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.