tach wiring - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > tach wiring

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Aluminum BumpersThe RuffStuff "I can't go to EJS" Sale!

Reply
Unread 02-13-2002, 08:43 PM   #1
93vert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Minturn, CO
Posts: 2
tach wiring

Can anyone tell me why I can't hook up an aftermarket tach to the tach plug on a factory '86 harness? The tach in question is a "factory replacement" tach from 4wd hardware, but same as all. In the instructions it says not to wire it to the factory plug. And I tried it and it doesn't work... Does the factory tach use some crazy wiring? Thanks

93vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2002, 10:28 PM   #2
CR SETH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3
The factory tach uses the jeeps ingnision(spelling?) to get a signal. The factory replacement tack needs to be run to the tach side of the coil. Then to power and ground.
CR SETH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.