Tach swap help - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Tach swap help

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Reply
Unread 08-19-2014, 04:38 PM   #1
colledrolled
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Stanwood, wa
Posts: 22
Tach swap help

I'm trying to replace the stock "inline" Tach with a Crown.

I dont know allot about this stuff so keep that in mind.

The old tach is "inline" on the wire that runs from the ignition to the coil. When I replace that tach with the new one, I connect the ignition side of the wire to the tach and the coil side is not connected to anything.

No wonder I have no power at the coil. What do I connect it to?

colledrolled is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-19-2014, 07:04 PM   #2
Mike Romain
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Off the Grid in Chester Grant, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 12,554
You connect the two harness plugs together to continue the "series" connection and find a different power source for your aftermarket tach.
__________________
Mike
86/00 CJ7 Laredo, 33x9.5 BFG AT's, 'glass nose to tail in '00, 'New' frame,wires and plumbing in '09. Carter BBD Carbed 4.0 HO in '10.
89 YJ Renegade. BBD Carbed 4.0 HO. Locked front and rear with 33x9.5 BFG AT's
Some Canadian Bush Jeep Runs and Build Photos: http://mikeromainjeeptrips.shutterfly.com (10 new albums added Sept 16/10)
Mike Romain is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.