T176 Reverse switch harness - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 31 Old 03-08-2013, 06:56 AM Thread Starter
hasselback
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rockton
Posts: 971
So, since im using a brand new painless wiring harness, the backup and 4x4 harness isn't exactly plug and play, as the painless harness has an extra wire, and doesn't have a plug. I ordered a 3 pin weather pack plug to join the two, but now the question is, what to do with the extra wire, which I assume is the black one. Should I assume red goes to red, white to white, and orange to orange?


forumrunner_20130308_085530.jpg



forumrunner_20130308_085553.jpg


1984 CJ7 I6 258 Bone stock
"Screw the brakes, just make the horn louder!"
My build thread
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/ha...build-1409432/
hasselback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 31 Old 03-08-2013, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
hasselback
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rockton
Posts: 971
bump
hasselback is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 03-09-2013, 05:23 AM Thread Starter
hasselback
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rockton
Posts: 971
hasselback is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 03-09-2013, 12:38 PM
Cutlass327
Web Wheeler
 
Cutlass327's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beach City
Posts: 5,878
Wish I could help. Obviously mine is different as it was wired for a D20...

Rick

1978 CJ5 5.0HO/T177/D300, '86 D30/D44 WT axles, 'glass body, 31x10.5 BFG A/T, TDK galv'd frame - DD and weekend toy

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/ri...8-cj5-1223197/
Cutlass327 is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 03-09-2013, 11:48 PM
43Duc
Registered User
1982 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 186
Anybody know if it's possible to modify a harness from a T4 to work w/ the T176? Is it just a matter of changing the plug that connects to the switch on the tranny?
43Duc is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 03-10-2013, 08:03 AM
shadoow
Senior Member
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 616
Pretty much. I cut the T4 plug wires off a couple of inches from the plug then put spade connectors on the wires and connected them to the trans BU switch. Taped em up separately then put tape around both and the sw to hold everything in place. Works fine.
shadoow is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 03-11-2013, 07:21 PM
waterdowg
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 2,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by 43Duc View Post
Anybody know if it's possible to modify a harness from a T4 to work w/ the T176? Is it just a matter of changing the plug that connects to the switch on the tranny?
I just bought this same plug from ebay and it fits perfect. Just cut the plug off the T4 harness and attach this connector and your good to go.

http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/web...ntent=10711125
waterdowg is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 11-30-2013, 10:23 AM
capt205
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 497
BUMP an older thread...

I am also in search of this harness.
Did the T5 to T176 swap earlier this year, and the harness was missing from the vehicle already, and one was not included with the T176 I got.

The plus on the firewall is there, and my setup is a D300 / T176.
capt205 is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 12-01-2013, 02:27 AM
Cutlass327
Web Wheeler
 
Cutlass327's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beach City
Posts: 5,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterdowg View Post
I just bought this same plug from ebay and it fits perfect. Just cut the plug off the T4 harness and attach this connector and your good to go.

http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/web...ntent=10711125
Link is no longer working, do you have a part number?

Rick

1978 CJ5 5.0HO/T177/D300, '86 D30/D44 WT axles, 'glass body, 31x10.5 BFG A/T, TDK galv'd frame - DD and weekend toy

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/ri...8-cj5-1223197/
Cutlass327 is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 12-01-2013, 09:06 AM
waterdowg
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 2,394
Let me look. I know someone here posted a link to one that O'reillys sells.
waterdowg is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 12-01-2013, 07:44 PM
yellow85cj
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ft Worth
Posts: 846
Here's what it is called and the Dorman part number

Dorman - Conduct-Tite Harnesses - 2 Wire Washer Fluid Sensor For General Motors - 85190

or at rockauto

ACDELCO Part # PT175 Back Up Lamp Connector

If you want to make your own and for 4 of your friends Repair connector store.com P/N for the connector (5 per pack) RC3407 and the terminals (25 per pack) P/N 1599C.

If you are looking for a single for a 4wd light connector on a D300 try looking at 1995 up Jimmy's/Blazer. The proportioning valve has a connector that fits the single contact.

Found a new connector that may work (for D300). At repair connector store - Delco Alternator R Relay Pin Terminal Repair Connector RC350J

Currently in pieces - all of them
yellow85cj is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 12-01-2013, 08:08 PM
waterdowg
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 2,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow85cj View Post
Here's what it is called and the Dorman part number

Dorman - Conduct-Tite Harnesses - 2 Wire Washer Fluid Sensor For General Motors - 85190
Yep.. Thats the one I got. I got mine on ebay.
waterdowg is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 01-19-2014, 08:55 AM
CJShayne
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roswell
Posts: 133
Hate to sound like a dummy... But if I buy the ACDELCO Part # PT175 Back Up Lamp Connector, it will snap right into my T176 without modification?
CJShayne is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 01-19-2014, 11:00 AM
yellow85cj
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ft Worth
Posts: 846
Yes. Slides right on.

Currently in pieces - all of them
yellow85cj is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 01-19-2014, 11:37 AM
turkish6
Registered User
1982 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Istanbul Turkey
Posts: 1,151
If anyone is up for sending me the T4 connecter they cut off....... I'd pay for shipping and be very greatful!
turkish6 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome