The Surf Jeep Restoration - New Build Thread - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > The Surf Jeep Restoration - New Build Thread

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Unread 10-07-2008, 09:59 PM   #1
imtheant

The Surf Jeep Restoration - New Build Thread

Well I cant say enough about how much I have learned and been inspired by all of you that have embarked on a full tub-off restoration of your CJ and I am finally ready to begin the process and figured I would of course share the process with everyone. I am a NOVICE mechanic. I have owned a few CJ's prior but have only done minor work to them. I cant weld, I just bought my first compressor and have never done anything more to an engine than replace the oil, belts and hoses. I did rebuild my last T150 tranny on my own which was quite an experience but I am looking forward to sharing this project and PLEASE do not hesitate to throw whatever advice you can since I will need it. So, enough banter here's the info:

1983 CJ7
258 I 6
T4 tranny
4" suspension lift 2" BL

Body and frame were in pretty good shape when I picked it up and motor runs a little rich but not too bad. Here
s the day I picked her up. (God knows why someone painted her purple)

Last edited by imtheant; 10-10-2008 at 06:07 AM..
imtheant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-07-2008, 10:03 PM   #2
imtheant

First couple days of teardown (How anyone could do this with just hand tools and no air tools is beyond me)

Unread 10-07-2008, 10:06 PM   #3
imtheant