Stupid CJ gauges and why I hate them - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Stupid CJ gauges and why I hate them

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Reply
Unread 01-21-2010, 03:55 PM   #1
IDK
Registered User
1972  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,189
Stupid CJ gauges and why I hate them

Monday I spent installing the OEM cluster in my Jeep, everything went smoothly and all the gauges worked flawlessly, until I put the amp gauge in, now nothing works at all except the speedo and odometer, wtf went wrong! I don't get it, I had the battery disconnected each time I worked under the dash I don't see how they would have shorted out, this made my whole day, I go and spend 100 dollars on gauges, put em in and they only work for 2 hours, any ideas? I'm going to tackle it again tomorrow, now that my temper tantrum has settled.

__________________
JpThang
IDK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-21-2010, 04:15 PM   #2
mtbtweety
Member
 
mtbtweety's Avatar
1982 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 267
Did you follow John Strenk's CJ Speedometer Gauge Quick Test guide? The big thing was the ground. If your grounds are crap, you could burn the gauge up quickly. The other links in his signature are like a bible on gauges....

If the grounds are good, double check the connector on the "I" port of the fuel gauge and make sure it's corrosion free. I ended up running a ground from the battery directly to the cluster...
mtbtweety is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-21-2010, 04:58 PM   #3
otterred
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: graham,washington
Posts: 109
hate to be that guy. But why are you putting an amp gauge in a 1980. are you running a volt gauge too for total electronic monitoring? or did you mean voltmeter and used amp?
otterred is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-21-2010, 06:25 PM   #4
IDK
Registered User
1972  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,189
It had a volt gauge in it before, and I put a amp in it instead, it was a gauge I found laying around the shop, it didn't even work either, I think I'm just going to go mechanical if I can't figure it out.
__________________
JpThang
IDK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-21-2010, 06:50 PM   #5
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 13,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by IDK View Post
It had a volt gauge in it before, and I put a amp in it instead, it was a gauge I found laying around the shop, it didn't even work either, I think I'm just going to go mechanical if I can't figure it out.
Mechanical volt or amp gauge?

If you wired the amp gauge like the volt gauge then that's your problem.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-21-2010, 10:15 PM   #6
trillobite
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 81
John's right.
Voltmeters are wired up to positive and negative (ground), and check the available voltage.
Ammeters measure current flow through the ammeter, and are wired between the positive source, and the items being powered by that source.
Using the voltmeter wires to hook up a ammeter, will short out the battery. You've got a blown fuse, or burnt wire. Unhook the ammeter, replace the fuse, and the other gauges should work again.

Off the subject, though....
What the difference is, between a mechanical voltmeter, and a electrical voltmeter. Both are electrical devices, aren't they? Is it the difference between measuring the voltage across a resistor with a analog gauge, as opposed to measuring the voltage with a transistorized circuit, which feeds a voltage gauge?
trillobite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-22-2010, 11:00 AM   #7
Pathkiller
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lorton, VA
Posts: 2,575
There's a huge flaming reason why Jeep stopped installing ammeter's and switched to volt meters. Fire. The ammeter runs the full battery amperage through the gauge. If the gauge fails (which they are prone to do) you will end up with a smoking hot flaming mess. Many Jeeps have gone on to Jeep heaven because of this. DO NOT install an ammeter unless you know what you are doing. The volt meter is way less dangerous and can be powered by a fused source, which is 100 times safer.
Pathkiller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-22-2010, 11:24 AM   #8
dwloop
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pathkiller View Post
There's a huge flaming reason why Jeep stopped installing ammeter's and switched to volt meters. Fire. The ammeter runs the full battery amperage through the gauge. If the gauge fails (which they are prone to do) you will end up with a smoking hot flaming mess. Many Jeeps have gone on to Jeep heaven because of this. DO NOT install an ammeter unless you know what you are doing. The volt meter is way less dangerous and can be powered by a fused source, which is 100 times safer.
Well, the other reason is that an ammeter really does not portray the health of the system, it could be charging like hell and the ammeter is pegged and still be dropping voltage…

Dave
dwloop is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.